Top Tips to Stop Depression From Beating Your Butt

I decided this invisible superhero cloak that I put on every morning is not going to change the fact that I still suffer from mental health issues. I’m writing this post to help myself as much as you because I have had one hell of a morning. This crappy morning has reminded me of the things I have learnt to avoid other crappy days from getting crappier. Some of the things I am going to mention are a pain in the butt, but they do help me with my general, daily well-being.

Even if you don’t think this list applies to you, store it somewhere in your long term memory;

  1. Stick to this list

I always seem to throw these tips away right when I need them most, bad idea! If you find something that helps from this list, don’t remove it on a ‘bad’ day stick to a routine and it will help.

  1. Get up and dressed

Getting dressed for the day makes me feel more capable to take on the day, as if I can take on the day. Even if you just change out of your pyjamas into some comfy joggers it still makes your day much easier.

  1. Don’t isolate yourself

Once you’re awake make plans! As I mentioned in my story, I began to isolate myself from my friends which makes things much worse. If I am feeling bad I want to hide away from the world and it’s ok every once in a while, but I can’t let myself do it every day and I recommend you don’t either. When it is too much for me to hang around with the people who will probably make me feel better, I hang around with my 17 year old Dalmatian, she makes everything alright (as seen in above picture).

  1. Eat well

You are what you eat; so eat healthy things, get your five a day eaten and have a healthier mind set. I feel better when I eat something close to a balanced meal at regular intervals, so give it a go…even if it means you have to ask your guardian to be your chef for the day.

  1. Do what you love

Self-nurture is so important, it seems to be second nature to do what you love but when you have depression it’s very easy to forget what you love. I need to teach myself to get up out of bed and do the things I love as it makes me feel so much more confident in myself.

  1. Go to bed at a similar time every night

My sleeping pattern was ruined for a short while and I found my emotions were incontrollable. It might be difficult, at first I lay there for hours just thinking about silly things, but once in a routine life seems easier to manage.

  1. Don’t give up

 

So there you have it, 7 of my top tips to stick to when life is beating your butt.  I hope they help you as much as they’ve just helped me whilst writing. Give them a go and remember; we cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Leave a Reply

